Wall of Champions

The first race in the history of the GT3CCME took place on 11 December 2009 at the Bahrain International Ciruit, the home of motorsport in the Middle East and the home of the Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Middle East organization.

Over the course of the first half-decade of existence of the Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Middle East four drivers were able to crown themselves Champion. Those Champions shall be honored on our ‘Wall of Champions’.

Abdulaziz Al Faisal

HRH Prince Abdulaziz bin Turki Al Faisal from Saudi Arabia claimed victory in the first ever race and set the basis for becoming a two-time champion. Claiming the title in the season 2009-10 and 2011-12, Abdulaziz Al Faisal also scored the most points in the history of the Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Middle East with an overall total of 1137 points. Furthermore, Abdulaziz Al Faisal was the only driver who participated in each of the first 50 races, this milestone was achieved with the second race of the 2013-14 season.

Salman bin Rashid Al Khalifa

Bahraini racer Sheikh Salman bin Rashid Al Khalifa managed to claim the top spot of the season 2010-11 after a close battle with the reigning champion Abdulaziz Al Faisal until the last race. Starting his career in Asian Formula BMW Salman bin Rashid Al Khalifa proved himself as a strong competitor in the Porsche GT3 Cup car participating as well in the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup for some races and still having strong results as part of Team Bahrain in recent years.

Clemens Schmid

Clemens was the first non-Middle Eastern Driver’s Champion, winning the championship both in 2012-13 and 2014-15 as part of Al Nabooda Racing from Dubai. With a total of 29 race victories he currently holds the record in that category.

Zaid Ashkanani

Zaid Ashkanani from Kuwait is still the youngest Champion in the history taking the crown in his second season in 2013-14, winning by just one point. With a total of nine race wins and just as many pole positions Zaid made the next step in his career participating in the GP3 Series 2015. As holder of fastest lap record in terms of average speed, clocking in 161.455 km/h on average at Losail International Circuit in February 2014 to claim the pole, he is returning this season again trying to adding another title to his belt!

Jeffrey Schmidt

Jeffrey Schmidt claiming the title in the season 2015-16 . The Swiss driver won the championship title with a lead of 29 points at the season finale of the Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Middle East in Bahrain. Jeffrey Schmidt can look back on a magnificent record in this season’s Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Middle East. The Swiss driver came to dominate the Porsche one-make cup, winning 75 percent of all races with nine victories. Only once did he take the chequered flag outside of the Top Two. Schmidt notched up a series of records in the course of the twelve races, finishing second best driver ever in the history of the series with 267 points.

Ryan Cullen

Irish driver Ryan Cullen won eight of the twelve races in the Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Middle East and ran away with the title with 265 points. His campaign saw him finish on the podium on all but one of his races in what was a breakthrough year for him.

Al Faisal Al Zubair

Al Faisal Al Zubair from Oman is the current Champion of the Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Middle East.

So the questions remains:

Who will be next?

Next Race


Bahrain International Circuit - Bahrain


All Dates

Latest Results


Bahrain International Circuit - Bahrain

Winner: Berkay Besler

View Results